REVIEW: Hills and Valleys by Helen Jones

hills and valleysHills and Valleys(Ambeth Chronicles #3)
ISBN: 9781533267863
Published: 25th May 2016
Paperback, 283 pages
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Magic, Adventure
Rating: 7/10
Amazon | Goodreads | Author Website

This review may contain spoilers from the other books in the series, Oak and Mist and No Quarter.

Thanks, once again, to Helen for sending me a paperback copy of Hills and Valleys in exchange for an honest review.

i am your father

Once again I have been transported back into the world of Ambeth (which I dearly love), as well as being able to stay in a place which I hold close to my heart, the beautiful Welsh countryside.

After the events of the Harvest Fair, Alma is finished with Ambeth – they can find the missing Cup and Crown without her. But Ambeth is not finished with her. First the mystery of her dead father comes back to haunt her, then the Dark reach out, hoping to trap her once more.

And then there’s the strange power she seems to have…

The story, in the third installment, takes a new tone and spends a large majority of its time tackling the grief that Alma and many members of the Light are feeling after the dramatic events at the end of No Quarter. I felt that a little too much of the story was taken up with this point, yet I can see why it was chosen to do so.

There were also large disruptions for the dark in the last book that continued on into this one, especially for Deryck and Ellery. I couldn’t stand Deryck in this book, he was so withdrawn and not himself (obviously, this was intended). He got on my nerves so bad, man up Deryck. Man up. Ellery on the other hand, I found myself warming to. The way she was trying to look after her brother made me see a different side to her, making me think that she may have a bigger role to play in the future of the series.

‘Sometimes things call to us until we can no longer ignore them. And Ambeth is calling you, Alma.’

The first main reveal had me feeling all kinds of emotions. Happiness, sadness, excitement, despair. The second had me saying to things, ‘WOW! That’s awesome!’ and ‘Well that came out of the blue’, as there wasn’t really anything leading into it to gradually bring it into the story.

Hills and Valleys has a lot less action that its predecessors, however it shows Alma maturing into the role that she needs to play. I thoroughly enjoyed this installment of the Ambeth Chronicles. At times it kind of felt like a filler book, yet, every good series has one.

To read my reviews of the other books in the series, click on their covers below.
oakandmistNo Quarter

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Hills and Valleys by Helen Jones

Leave a Reply

