REVIEW: Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter by Tim Learn

Chewy Noh 2Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter
ISBN: 9781505851458
Published: 15th July 2015
Paperback, 301 pages
Genre: YA, Middle Grade, Fantasy
Rating: 7/10

Amazon | Goodreads | Author Website

I didn’t realise how happy all the mythology in this book would make me, but is has, and its spectacular.  And all those gods and mythological beings made me think of this guy.

loki i am a god

Chewy Noh has many problems. Besides his mom becoming a mu-dang-a Korean fortune-teller possessed by his dead grandmother who can read minds-the school bully, Kent, is still on the warpath to get Chewy kicked out of school. With his secret ability to win at everything, none of this bothers him until he starts disappearing for no reason. Meanwhile, a mysterious force attacks his fellow students, and he must scramble to figure out what’s going on before he becomes its next and final victim.

First off, thanks to Tim Learn for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

It’s taken me so long to finish this book, not because it’s terrible but because I’ve had so much to do I havent had a chance to just sit down and read.

I enjoyed the second installment of the Chewy Noh series more than the first book. I’ve always loved all types of mythology, it’s really where my love of magic and fantasy stories came from, so for there to be Korean mythology in this novel made my day (or few months considering how long it took me to finish). This added the back story of the ‘ghost’ who is after Chewy.

“Humans stive for blame when anything goes wrong. They need to find something outside of themselves to be the root cause of their misery.”

Characters. Chewy had to deal with old wounds when his cousin Su Bin comes to live with him and his mother for a while. I loved the lengths that they went to hide how dysfunctional their family was, with his mum being a mu-dang and all. I liked how Su Bin got in between Clint and Chewy a little.

I felt that the story was almost jumpy in some parts, as if it hadn’t been explained properly or if I had missed something so I’d have to back and read the section again to make sure I got it right. However, I really did enjoy the book.

Thanks again to Tim for sending me a copy!

To read my review of the first book in the series, Chewy Noh and the Fall of the Mu-Dang, please click here.

One thought on “REVIEW: Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter by Tim Learn

  1. Pingback: Chewy 2 gets another review! | Tim Learn

Leave a Reply

