REVIEW: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city of bonesCity of Bones by Cassandra Clare
ISBN: 9781406307627
Published: 2nd July 2007
441 Pages, Paperback
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Rating: 9/10
Buy on Amazon

Oh…my…god. I enjoyed this way more than I thought I world. Some of my friends have been on at me about reading these for ages and now that I’ve finally got round to it I can see why.

On her 18th birthday, Clary Fray and her best friend Simon go to Pandemonium to celebrate however, Clary starts to see things. Like the best-looking guy in the nightclub stabbing another boy to death. Her mother has disappeared and a hideous monster is lurking in her apartemnt. Soon Clary realises that she has stumbled into an invisible war between ancient demonic forces and the secretive Shadowhunters – a war in which she has a fateful role to play…

I’ve already watched the film and have been watching the tv show (which I’m actually kinda falling in love with) so I knew most of the things that were going to happen but it was amazing! It was a bit slow starting and some of the chapters are huge but the story just flows and makes you rethink everything you think you know about the world.

“Have you fallen in love with the wrong person yet?’
Jace said, “Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.”
“At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejection, Jace Wayland.”
“Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”  

I loved Jace’s attitude and some of his comments were pretty funny. His character progresses really well through the book. I also liked the Lightwoods and the contrast between them with Isabelle being sharp but fun-loving and Alec being quite serious. I did like Clary however, she could be a little whiny about times about wanting to find her mother as if we didn’t get the point the first thousand times. Oh Simon, where to begin. He is just so adorable in a mundane way that makes you love him so much that just makes you want to say “It’s gonna be okay”.

The only real problem I found was that because I have already watched most of the book I was seeing the actors playing the parts and comparing the books to the film/tv series. Saying that, I can’t wait to get stuck into the next book!

 

Leave a Reply

