Oak and Mist by Helen Jones

oakandmistOak and Mist
ISBN: 1508860122
Published: March 2015
Paperback, 289 pages
Genre: YA Fantasy, Magic, Adventure, Romance
Rating: 8/10

Thanks first of all to the author Helen Jones(Journey to Ambeth) for sending me this copy of Oak and Mist, I’m very grateful!

Alma is just a normal 15-year-old until Ellery and her friends turn up and corner her in between two trees in the middle of the park. She is transported to the world of Ambeth where the people are beautiful and the world is full of magic. Alma has some big decisions to make.

“Then the scream came, loud and ragged with pain, arching up from under the pines.”

I really enjoyed this novel, yes I’ve read books with the same base storyline before but this world that Helen Jones has created just seemed more vivid. I can actually imagine aspects of the landscape based on my own memories.Β  I liked the whole Light and Dark aspect, I would really like to see more of the Dark characters and how they are dealing with what is happening.

I liked most of the characters, some like Artos and Adara could have been better rounded but most of the characters were pretty good. There’s a bit of a love triangle but I can deal with it because the adventure aspects are great.

I can’t wait for No Quarter to come out!

One thought on “Oak and Mist by Helen Jones

  1. Pingback: Helping Hands | Journey To Ambeth

Leave a Reply

